J. A. White: Writing Scary Stories (A Workshop for Kids)

Join us for a workshop on writing Scary Stories with J. A. White, the author of The Thickety, among other scary, eerie and otherwise uncanny works. When he's not making up stories, he teaches a bunch of kids how to make up stories (along with math and science and other important stuff). He wishes dragons were real because it would be a much cooler way to get to work. Mr. White's new book is Shadow School: Archimancy, the first in a series! 

This fast-paced workshop is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Gidwitz, and Stranger Things!  Since being scared is hard work, we are including an after-school snack. The cost of the workshop is a $5.00 gift card to The Book Stall. Payment is not due until the day of the event, but we do ask that you reserve your child's spot by calling us at 847-446-8880, or emailing events@thebookstall.com.  We recommend this workshop for kids ages 9 -13.

About Shadow School: Archimancy:

Cordelia Liu knew Shadow School was going to be different. Still, she didn't expect the school grounds to be filled with ghosts.

Cordelia soon realizes she's not the only one who can see the ghosts; her new friend Benji can too. Together with super-smart Agnes, the trio are determined to find out why the ghosts are there, and whether there's a way to set them free.

But the school was created with more sinister intentions, and someone is willing to go to extreme lengths to ensure that the ghosts remain trapped forever.

"White opens the Shadow School trilogy with a well-paced thriller of a new-kid-at-school narrative. Tension builds to a crescendo when an overnight rescue attempt goes awry, and the ending promises more adventures to come for Cordelia and her friends." --ALA Booklist

"The preteens' friendship is realistic and appealing. The suspense is engaging and consistent throughout, and there's a perfect mix of scares and mystery that will entice even the most fainthearted of readers. VERDICT: This delightful blend of friendship, suspense, and spectral sightings belongs on most shelves." --School Library Journal

 

Event date: 

Thursday, October 3, 2019 - 4:30pm to 5:30pm

Event address: 

The Book Stall
811 Elm Street
Winnetka, IL 60093
Shadow School #1: Archimancy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062838285
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 27th, 2019

From the acclaimed author of Nightbooks and The Thickety comes a spooky series, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Gidwitz, and Stranger Things!

Cordelia Liu knew Shadow School was going to be different. Still, she didn’t expect the school grounds to be filled with ghosts.