An Evening with Jacqueline Winspear

Join us for an intimate online conversation with novelist Jacqueline Winspear as she discusses The Consequences of Fear, the 16th title in her famed Maisie Dobbs mystery series. This is a ticketed event, and all ticket holders will receive a signed copy of The Consequences of Fear and an exclusive link to our live Crowdcast event. Click HERE to purchase your ticket!

We offer two ticket options:

1. Distant Attendee. This ticket admits one household to the event and includes a copy of The Consequences of Fear: A Maisie Dobbs Novel at 10% off the cover price. This ticket also includes US domestic shipping. Your book will be shipped on or just after 3/29/21.

2. Local Attendee. This ticket admits one household and and includes a copy of The Consequences of Fear: A Maisie Dobbs Novel at 10% off the cover price. Ticketholders must pick up their copy from at The Book Stall, and can do so any time after 3/29/21 during our normal hours, 10 AM to 5 PM, Monday - Saturday. Pick-up must be within 20 days of the event.

About the Book: October 1941. While on a delivery, young Freddie Hackett, a message runner for a government office, witnesses an argument that ends in murder. Crouching in the doorway of a bombed-out house, Freddie waits until the coast is clear. But when he arrives at the delivery address, he's shocked to come face to face with the killer.

Dismissed by the police when he attempts to report the crime, Freddie goes in search of a woman he once met when delivering a message: Maisie Dobbs. While Maisie believes the boy and wants to help, she must maintain extreme caution: she's working secretly for the Special Operations Executive, assessing candidates for crucial work with the French resistance. Her two worlds collide when she spots the killer in a place she least expects. She soon realizes she's been pulled into the orbit of a man who has his own reasons to kill--reasons that go back to the last war.

As Maisie becomes entangled in a power struggle between Britain's intelligence efforts in France and the work of Free French agents operating across Europe, she must also contend with the lingering question of Freddie Hackett's state of mind. What she uncovers could hold disastrous consequences for all involved in this compelling chapter of the "series that seems to get better with every entry" (Wall Street Journal).

"Fast-paced... Winspear never sugarcoats the horrors of war, and alongside the camaraderie shown by these characters and the Londoners surrounding them deliver terrible truths that must be endured.... also recommend it as a less- weighty read-alike for Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See."-- Booklist, starred review

About the Author: Jacqueline Winspear is the author of the New York Times bestselling Maisie Dobbs series, which includes In This Grave Hour, Journey to MunichA Dangerous PlaceLeaving Everything Most LovedElegy for Eddie, and eight other novels. Her standalone novel, The Care and Management of Lies, was also a New York Times bestseller and a Dayton Literary Peace Prize finalist. Her memoir, This Time Next Year We'll Be Laughing, was published in November of 2020. Originally from the United Kingdom, she now lives in California.

 

Event date: 

Monday, March 29, 2021 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Event address: 

Online Crowdcast event!
The Consequences of Fear: A Maisie Dobbs Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062868022
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: Harper - March 23rd, 2021

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

As Europe buckles under Nazi occupation, Maisie Dobbs investigates a possible murder that threatens devastating repercussions for Britain's war efforts in this latest installment in the New York Times bestselling mystery series.


This Time Next Year We'll Be Laughing Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781641292696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now--Subject to Availability
Published: Soho Press - November 10th, 2020

A 2021 Edgar Award Nominee for Best Critical/Biographical

“Jacqueline Winspear has created a memoir of her English childhood that is every bit as engaging as her Maisie Dobbs novels, just as rich in character and detail, history and humanity. Her writing is lovely, elegant and welcoming.”—Anne Lamott