Writing For Young Adults: An All-Star Panel Discussion

Are you interested in writing for young adults? We are delighted to partner with SCBWI to bring you five authors ready to answer questions about the wherefores, whys, and hows of writing YA literature. We'll talk about getting started, and keeping the writing energy going. We'll dive into the great "outliners/vs. seat-of-the-pants writing-style" debate. We'll chat about agents, cover letters, submissions, inspiration, and publication. Our special guests include Amelia Brunskill (The Window) Michelle Falkoff (Questions I Want to Ask You) Jessie Ann Foley (Neighborhood Girls) Caleb Roehrig (White Rabbit) and Stephanie Kate Strohm (Prince in Disguise.)  

These five writers have a wide range of experience and a host of stories, and we encourage people just beginning to think about writing to attend, as well as those of you currently writing (or finishing) a YA book. Get inspiration, information, and creative energy from The Book Stall, SCBWI, and these talented authors. 

Refreshments will be served, door prizes will be awesome and abundant, each attendee will receive a 5.00 off coupon good for any one purchase in the store, and our guest authors will be happy to sign copies of their work. This event is recommended for ages 14 and up, and is free and open to the public. 

Event date: 

Sunday, July 22, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm

Event address: 

The Book Stall
811 Elm Street
Winnetka, IL 60093
The Window Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524720292
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Delacorte Press - April 3rd, 2018

"A gripping tale of suspense, secrets, and the unbreakable bonds of sisterhood."—Karen M. McManus, New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying


Questions I Want to Ask You Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062680235
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: HarperTeen - May 29th, 2018

Perfect for fans of David Arnold and Jeff Zentner, this young adult novel from the author of Playlist for the Dead is an intriguing mystery about family, secrets, and how to move forward when the past keeps pulling you back.


Neighborhood Girls Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062571854
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: HarperTeen - September 12th, 2017

A powerful coming-of-age story about a girl whose encounters with loss, broken friendships, and newfound faith leave her forever changed, from Printz Honor winner and Morris Award Finalist Jessie Ann Foley

When Wendy Boychuck’s father, a Chicago cop, was escorted from their property in handcuffs, she knew her life would never be the same.


White Rabbit Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250085658
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Feiwel & Friends - April 24th, 2018

Caleb Roehrig, author of Last Seen Leaving, delivers another spellbinding YA murder mystery in White Rabbit.


Prince in Disguise Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484768174
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - December 19th, 2017


Someday I want to live in a place where I never hear "You're Dusty's sister?" ever again.
Life is real enough for Dylan-especially as the ordinary younger sister of Dusty, former Miss Mississippi and the most perfect, popular girl in Tupelo.