Lisa Jenn Bigelow: Drum Roll Please (at Wilmette Public Library)

Celebrate the release of Wilmette Public Library Youth Services librarian Lisa Bigelow's newest book, Drum Roll, Please at the WPL. Enjoy refreshments and a reading from the middle-grade novel. Books will be available for purchase from The Book Stall, and Lisa will be happy to sign books.  Recommended for ages 9 - 13!  Not to be missed by fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Tim Federle's Better Nate Than Ever!

Drum Roll, Please has already recieved rave reviews!  And Lisa was the winner of our recent short-short story contest--a tiny accolade to add to her recgonition as a writer

Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat in this big-hearted middle grade novel.

Melly only joined the school band because her best friend, Olivia, begged her to. But to her surprise, quiet Melly loves playing the drums. It's the only time she doesn't feel like a mouse. Now she and Olivia are about to spend the next two weeks at Camp Rockaway, jamming under the stars in the Michigan woods.

But this summer brings a lot of big changes for Melly: her parents split up, her best friend ditches her, and Melly finds herself unexpectedly falling for another girl at camp. To top it all off, Melly's not sure she has what it takes to be a real rock n' roll drummer. Will she be able to make music from all the noise in her heart?

★ "Fun and substantial, readable and empowering, this is a master class in balancing real issues with a light-hearted tone. Bigelow's compassionate take on the topics of family, friendship, and first romance hits all the right notes. A perfect summer read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer Holm."--School Library Journal (starred review)

★ "In a story about growing pains, turning points, and self-discovery, Bigelow shows a clear understanding of young adolescent emotions. Melly's responses to situations are authentic, especially the excitement and confusion she feels when she is attracted to another female camper. Bigelow has a graceful and genuine touch."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Ami Polonsky, acclaimed author of Gracefully Grayson, raved, "Drum Roll, Please is a perfect middle-grade love story. Bigelow delivers a mighty message to turn up the volume on your inner drumbeat."

Event date: 

Sunday, July 1, 2018 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm

Event address: 

Wilmette Public Library
242 Wilmette Ave
Wilmette, IL 60091
Drum Roll, Please Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062791146
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: HarperCollins - June 26th, 2018

Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat in this big-hearted middle grade novel. Not to be missed by fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Tim Federle's Better Nate Than Ever!