Book Discussion: "The Alice Network" led by Roberta Rubin

Veteran bookseller and book group leader Roberta Rubin leads a discussion of this epic historical novel.

There is a $5.00 charge to participate that is fully redeemable for merchandise in the store.  

About The Alice Network:

It's 1947 and American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a fervent belief that her beloved French cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive somewhere. So when Charlie's family banishes her to Europe to have her "little problem" take care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister. In 1915, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance to serve when she's recruited to work as a spy for the English. Sent into enemy-occupied France during The Great War, she's trained by the mesmerizing Lili, the "Queen of Spies," who manages a vast network of secret agents, right under the enemy's nose. Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. Until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn't heard in decades, and launching them both on a mission to find the truth ...no matter where it leads

"Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!"--Stephanie Dray, author of America's First Daughter

"Line for line, one of the best books I've read in a long time. Loyal and brave, the women of THE ALICE NETWORK are brilliantly revealed by Kate Quinn's exquisite storytelling and prose. I loved every word! A must read for fans of WWI and WWII fiction."--Renee Rosen, author of Windy City Blues

 

Event date: 

Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - 9:30am to 10:30am

Event address: 

The Book Stall
811 Elm Street
Winnetka, 60093
The Alice Network: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062654199
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - June 6th, 2017

Featuring an exclusive excerpt from Kate Quinn's next incredible historical novel, THE HUNTRESS

 

NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY BESTSELLER

#1 GLOBE AND MAIL HISTORICAL FICTION BESTSELLER

One of NPR's Best Books of the Year!