Dory Fantasmagory: The Real True Friend (Paperback)

Dory Fantasmagory: The Real True Friend Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
On hand as of Dec 15 11:45pm
(Beginning Chapter Books)

Description


Fans of Junie B. Jones and Ivy and Bean will love this new story about the spunky little rascal with big ideas.

The star of Dory Fantasmagory is heading to school. Her older siblings, Luke and Violet, warn her to leave her imaginary friend, Mary, at home—or better yet, leave her whole imagination at home! Dory is determined to behave like a “regular old girl who never gets in trouble,” but on her very first day she meets a new friend, a girl whose imagination and style are just about as wild as her own. Now she just has to convince her siblings that she’s not making it all up!

Filled with plenty of funny pictures, this book bursts with charm and impudence, making this a must-read for the chapter book set.

"Dory is as likable a kid heroine as I’ve encountered in a decade."  –The Boston Globe
 

* "Once again, Hanlon’s hilarious narration and cartooning reveal an uncanny talent for getting into the mile-a-minute mind of a one-of-a-kind girl." –Publishers Weekly, starred review

About the Author


Abby Hanlon has taught creative writing and first grade. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and two children.

Praise For…


Praise for Dory and the Real True Friend:

* "Once again, Hanlon’s hilarious narration and cartooning reveal an uncanny talent for getting into the mile-a-minute mind of a one-of-a-kind girl." –Publishers Weekly, starred review

* “Well written, humorous, and engaging… A great addition to any library.” –School Library Journal, starred review

"Old friends and new will hope this highly successful sequel will not be the last starring this inventive, original child." –Kirkus Reviews

"The story has its tendermoments, but kids will find plenty to laugh about as well. A fine sequel to the popular series opener, Dory Fantasmagory."–Booklist

"Dory and the Real True Friend is a sequel that lives up to, and wonderfully expands the world of the original. It’s genius." – Travis Jonker, 100 Scope Notes Blog

"Dory is as likable a kid heroine as I’ve encountered in a decade."  – The Boston Globe

Praise for Dory Fantasmagory:

A Golden Kite Honor Book for Fiction
ALA/ALSC/YALSA 2015 Notable Children’s Book
Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2014
Kirkus Best Book of 2014
One of Parent’s Magazine one of the “10 Best Children’s Books” of 2014

"This book is AMAZING! Perfection of tone, plot, pacing, art, you name it... In a word, fantastico." –Betsy Bird, A Fuse 8 Production Blog

* "...this inventive child is irresistible...Charming, funny, true to life." –Kirkus Reviews, starred review

*  "Time spent with Dory is time well spent." –Publishers Weekly, starred review

*  “Readers will laugh at her entertaining antics.” –School Library Journal, starred review


From the Hardcover edition.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780147510686
ISBN-10: 0147510686
Publisher: Puffin Books
Publication Date: June 7th, 2016
Pages: 176
Language: English
Series: Dory Fantasmagory