Amy Recommends

Staff Books: 

A Family Is a Family Is a Family Cover Image
By Sara O'Leary, Qin Leng (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781554987948
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Groundwood Books - September 13th, 2016

A teacher asks her young class of children, “What makes your family special?” The answers are different in many ways. Some have many siblings, some have none, some live with their grandma, some are adopted, and the differences go on and on. But there is one similarity that matters most of all. The whimsical illustrations and lyrical prose make this book one to share and discuss with your class or family. Ages 4-8


The Storybook Knight Cover Image
By Helen Docherty, Thomas Docherty (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781492638148
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky - September 6th, 2016

Young Leo the knight is a reader, not a fighter. When his parents send him off to fight the dragon, he is worried. He packs lots of sandwiches and, of course, books. Along the way to meet the dragon, he finds several other beasts who are ready to fight. Would they be willing to listen to a story instead? Told in rhyming verse with humorous, colorful illustrations, this is a book to read again and again. Ages 4-8


Ada Twist, Scientist Cover Image
By Andrea Beaty, David Roberts (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781419721373
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - September 6th, 2016

Ada Marie Twist (named for Ada Lovelace and Marie Curie) is a born scientist. Always questioning and wondering about the world around her, she is constantly asking Who? What? Where? When? Why? Her curiosity is infectious! This book is a great teacher resource for STEM. You will love Ada Twist! Ages 5-7


Where Are You Going, Baby Lincoln? Cover Image
By Kate DiCamillo, Chris Van Dusen (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780763673116
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - August 2nd, 2016

Baby Lincoln’s older sister, Eugenia, is quite bossy, and Baby Lincoln has finally had enough. Heading out on a Necessary Journey, she doesn’t know where she is going, but she does know she is having an incredible adventure and discovering much about herself. A welcome addition to the Deckawoo Drive adventures. Ages 6-9


The Poet's Dog Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062292629
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 13th, 2016

This is the story of a poet’s dog who finds two young children in a snowstorm. Together they return to the dog’s cabin and wait out the storm together. The children find, to their amazement, that the dog can communicate with them. His owner the poet once told him, “We are the same really. When you can’t find a poet, find a child. Remember that.” Although quite short, this book is a small masterpiece. Heartwarming and poignant. Ages 6-10


Moo Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062415240
Availability: On Our Shelves Now....best to call before coming in to pick up.
Published: HarperCollins - August 30th, 2016

. Fans of Love That Dog and Hate That Cat will love this new book by Sharon Creech. Reena’s family moves from a big city to a coastal town in Maine. Reena and her brother realize how different Maine is from their old home. This is especially true of Mrs. Falala, their new neighbor, whose menagerie of animals is a bit overwhelming—especially the ornery cow, Zora. Creech blends prose and poetry to communicate a range of emotions from humor to sorrow. Exploring the themes of change, loss, and friendship, this is a book not to miss! Ages 8-12